Managing the Financial Side of Commercial Fleets

2010 Environmental Leadership Award Winners Announced

October 22, 2010

SAN DIEGO - The recipients of the 2010 Environment Leadership Awards were announced Oct. 19 in a special presentation at the Green Fleet Conference in San Diego. Sponsored by Automotive Fleet and Government Fleet, winners in attendance were presented the award by San Diego Mayor Jerry Sanders.

Commercial and public sector fleet leaders from 31 companies and government agencies were recognized for leading successful "green" efforts that led to significant improvements in their fleets' environmental impact. While a successful green fleet program requires participation from all staff involved, the awards recognized the individual responsible for taking charge and leading the team's efforts.

These professionals lead their fleets in reducing emissions, implementing alternative-fuel technologies, and perform additional "greening" efforts. Winning fleets were self- and peer-nominated, and final recipients were selected by the editorial staff at Automotive Fleet and Government Fleet.

Sponsored by Automotive Fleet, recipients from the private sector were:

  • Bob Adamsky, Del-Air.
  • Rahul Bhardwaj, Pfizer.
  • Donna Bibbo, Novo Nordisk.
  • Mike Britt, UPS.
  • Denise Cross, Carrier.
  • Suzanne Gallagher and Louise Davis-Lopez, Johnson & Johnson.
  • Brian Heldebrandt, Verizon.
  • Kimberly Jamme, AstraZeneca.
  • Diane Lopez, Abbott.
  • Hector Madriaga, Sempra Energy.
  • Dick Malcom, State Farm.
  • Mike Mannheimer, Cox Enterprises.
  • Jeff Modica, Schwan's Home Service.
  • Bud Reuter, Comcast.
  • Pete Silva, PepsiCo.
  • George Survant, Florida Power & Light.
  • Jerome Webber, AT&T.

Sponsored by Government Fleet, public sector fleet recipients were:

  • Gregg Duckett, City of Phoenix.
  • Richard Battersby, University of California, Davis
  • Douglas Bond, Alameda County, Calif.
  • Larry Campbell, City of Fort Wayne, Ind.
  • Paul Condran, City of Culver City, Calif.
  • Venu Gupta, City of Milwaukee.
  • Roberty Howdyshell, Riverside County, Calif.
  • Ernie Ivy, City of Denver.
  • Rick Longobart, City of Santa Ana, Calif.
  • Erin Miller, City of Columbus, Ohio
  • Allen Mitchell, CPFP, Snohomish County, Wash.
  • Curtis Shaw, CPFP, City of Walla Walla, Wash.
  • Steve Weir, New York City.
  • Chris Wiley, City of Seattle.

Related stories:

Awards Recognize Green Fleet Leaders



Twitter Facebook Google+


Please note that comments may be moderated. 
Leave this field empty:

Fleet Incentives

Determine the actual cost of owning and running a vehicle in your fleet. Compare vehicles by class and model.


Fuel Management

Bernie Kanavagh from WEX will answer your questions and challenges

View All


Fleet Tracking And Telematics

Todd Ewing from Verizon Connect will answer your questions and challenges

View All


Fleet Management And Leasing

Jack Firriolo from Merchants will answer your questions and challenges

View All


Sponsored by

Fuel payment and control systems featuring various branded, multi-branded or universal credit cards offered by fleet management and leasing companies to reduce driver and company fleet office administration, to simplify reporting of data useful to fleet operating and expense records, and to better insure compliance with company fuel usage policies or requirements.

Read more

Alternative Fuel Locator

Use the Alternative Fuel Locator to find stations near you.

Launch Alternative Fuel Locator

Up Next

More From The World's Largest Fleet Publisher