Photo courtesy of AFLA.

Photo courtesy of AFLA.

The 2016 Automotive Fleet & Leasing Association (AFLA) annual conference was held Sept. 18-21, 2016, in San Diego, Calif. The conference featured 13 speakers, nine separate educational sessions, and an evening networking dinner cruise of the San Diego harbor.

One of the highlights of the conference was the annual industry awards ceremony.

George Survant, senior director of fleet for Charter Communications, was named the 2016 AF Professional Fleet Manager of the Year. Wheels and AFLA are sponsors of the Fleet Manager of the Year Award.

Michael Ahart, VP of transportation for Dean Foods was named 2016 Fleet Executive of the Year. The CEI Group is the exclusive sponsor for the Fleet Executive of the Year Award.

Three new members were inducted in the Fleet Hall of Fame, which is now comprised of 75 members. The 2016 inductees were Phil Procida, VP of international operations for ARI and president of the Global Fleet Services; Ron Shoemaker, the founder of Flexco Fleet Services and co-founder of Innovative Funding Services, and the late Michael Braude, who was the co-founder and first president of EMKAY. ned a group that now includes 75 honorees.

Originally posted on Automotive Fleet