KINGSTON, NJ - Commercial and public sector fleet professionals have been elected as officers for The Center for Professional Fleet Certification (CPFC), an alliance of fleet industry associations, entities, and universities formed to advance the fleet management profession by establishing standards of excellence. The CPFC recently held its first meeting, where it discussed and went over its bylaws, and elected officers and initial directors.

"The Center provides a means for diverse organizations, with fleet management related common interests, to work together in  the continuing pursuit of professional excellence in the fleet management profession for both individuals and organizations," explained Marvin Fletcher, CAFM, who was elected as president.  "It is a unique resource to aide these groups in their commitments to continuing education and to promote the establishment of widely accepted standards of achievement by members and allied schools. These efforts will promote recognition of these achievements in the fleet profession to employers and others benefiting from the accomplishment of individual and organization fleet management certifications."

CPFC endorses and promotes the Certified Automotive Fleet Manager (CAFM) and Certified Automotive Fleet Specialist (CAFS) programs as the individual certification programs of choice in the fleet industry. Organizations join the CPFC Center by endorsing and supporting the programs endorsed by the alliance and have the ability to provide training services and reference products for those certification programs. Its ultimate goal is to lead the CAFM designation within the fleet management profession to the same level of recognition as the CPA designation has within the accounting field.

The following individuals were elected as officers:

  • President: Marvin Fletcher, CAFM, director of Fleet Services, County of Hanover Fleet Services, Ashland, Va.
  • Vice President: John Brewington, Jr., CAFM, president, Brewington & Company, Mount Airy, N.C.
  • Secretary: Jon Crull, CAFM, Deland, Fla.
  • Treasurer: Ruth Alfson, CAFM, manager, Fleet Center of Excellence, Serco Group, Inc., Fairborn, Ohio.

The initial list of directors includes:

  • Bryan Flansburg, CAFM, director, University of Colorado Transportation Services, Boulder, Colo.
  • Christopher Amos, CAFM, City of St. Louis Equipment Services Division, St. Louis.
  • Janis Christensen, CAFM, director, Corporate Fleet Management Services, Mercury Associates, Rossmoor, Calif.
  • Shawna Laird, business manager, representing Rocky Mountain Fleet Management Association.

The managing director is Patrick McCarren, Kingston, N.J. 

Current regular members of The Center include NAFA Fleet Management Association (NAFA), National Conference of State Fleet Administrators (NCSFA), Rocky Mountain Fleet Management Association (RMFMA), and the Florida Association of Governmental Fleet Administrators (FLAGFA). Current Advisory Members include U.S. Government Services Administration (GSA)/FedFleet Advisory Council, International Automotive Remarketers Alliance (IARA), National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE), National Truck Equipment Association (NTEA), Network of Employers for Traffic Safety (NETS), State of Ohio, and the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). In addition, several colleges and universities have joined the alliance, including Ferris State University in Michigan, Ranken Technical College in Missouri, and the Community College of the Air Force.

Additional information is available at

Related stories:

Center for Professional Fleet Certification to Hold First Meeting


Originally posted on Automotive Fleet